• |
  • |
  • |


The North Eastern Region comprises the following eight States:

  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Manipur
  • Meghalaya
  • Mizoram
  • Nagaland
  • Sikkim
  • Tripura

They have the following special features:
The seven States of the North Eastern Region barring Sikkim are linked to the rest of India through the 26 km long Siliguri Corridor commonly known as Chicken's neck. They therefore form an integrated geographical unit.

  • Sikkim became officially a part of the North Eastern Region in 2002.
  • 98% of NER's border is bounded by India's international neighbours.
  • The region offers great diversity - of topography, climatic conditions, language, religion, ethnicity and yet has common developmental challenges.
  • Barring Assam, the other States are small and hilly.
  • Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Mizoram are overwhelmingly tribal. The other four States also have substantial tribal population.
  • Infrastructure deficit in the region, particularly connectivity in all forms is acute.
  • The economy of the region is overwhelmingly agricultural.

For the above reasons, the development challenges for these eight States require special attention. Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region or DONER, as it is commonly known, is a unique Ministry in the Union Government as its activities are regional and more importantly advocating the special needs of the region to the other Ministries/Departments and policy makers.

In this regard, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), India's Apex Industry Association is organising ConMac ( An Excon Show - Focus North East) - The 1st edition on Construction Equipment exhibition for the North East region is scheduled between 27th , 28th February & 1st March 2015 at Maniram Dewan Center, Guwahati, India.